When coming to Hue tourism, we should mention Chi Lang – Gia Hoi Ancient Street. This place is always the most impressive for visitors. The old town attracts tourists because of the ancient beauty vagued on every tile roof and every street. The moss color of time has covered these age-old streets but still does not obscure the beauty of the capital city. It has a distinct attractiveness separate from other old towns. This is the place where there are still unique architectural features of Chinese people. For a clearer view of this interesting destination, let me explore it.
1. Chieu Ung Temple
It is located on Chi Lang street of Gia Hoi town, this temple was built in 1908 on the old foundation of a small pagoda dating back to 1887. The temple of 108 Hai Nam people came to live in Thuan Hoa long ago. In 1851, while going to the sea, they were mistakenly killed by the army of Nguyen Dynasty.
After that, Tu Duc Emperor knew the truth, he was very serious in terms of those who killed innocent people and performed a confession ceremony for those who died unjustly. These 108 killed people then became sacred saints who helped and protected the sea traders. Later, Hai Nam people worshiped them and named Chieu Ung.
It was built separately from Cho Dinh Street with a large yard and a fence made of very fine iron bars. Interior and exterior architecture of this temple are decorated with colored ceramic reliefs. It made from China with the images of chemical dragon carp, the word Phuc, Loc, Tho written on the wall with pigments.
Moreover, the statues, Chinese characters, paintings, and many parallel sentences to express the origin of the temple, reminded to the ancient historical periods, depicting the life of the Chinese.
They are intended to honor China and especially the souls of the deceased. On the roof of the temple is decorated with four sacred animals very sophisticated and brilliant. This is one of the most beautiful shrines with very elaborate decoration.
Every year on the full moon of the sixth lunar month, relatives of the victims live in Vietnam or from Hai Nam, as well as Chinese people from the gathering places to commemorate the ceremony, often lasting up to three days.
2. Quang Dong Assembly Halls
It is situated on Chi Lang street where a host of Chinese Assembly Halls is gathered. Quang Dong Assembly Hall was established in the late nineteenth century in the 7th year of Tu Duc Emperor (1854), worshiping Quan Cong . Quang Dong Assembly Hall has existed for over 100 years. The architecture is almost intact with a unique Chinese structure, which retains the cultural values of the annual activities such as the Lunar New Year and Mid-Autumn Festival. With architecture built nicely in the national shape, from wood and stone materials, the assembly halls is a closed building with three-door gate, a large garden decorated with many plants.
Coming to this place will help visitors find the serenity, the tranquility needed to forget somewhat the hustle of modern life.
3. Dieu De Pagoda
This is where the son of Minh Mang Emperor was born (1807), then took the throne as the Thieu Tri Emperor. Previously, this was a very beautiful and famous garden, poetic garden scene, architecture intertwined with nature making this place very charming. When he was enthroned, in 1844 the Emperor transformed his residence into a temple and named it Dieu De Pagoda.
According to the timeline of history, it has taken away many of its inherent majestic looks but the position and role of Dieu De pagoda have not been changed. The architecture of the temple is not the same as any other temple at that time with the main Dai Giac palace in the middle. Inside the Dai Giac palace is designed as follows: the main altar has two floors, the upper floor is used to decorate Tam The Buddha statues. The lower floor is devoted to worshiping the tablet of Thieu Tri Emperor, it is illuminated and touches the dragon image. To the right and to the left worship Ngai Van Phu and Tho Hien.
Dieu De Pagoda also underwent many restorations works in 1910 by Duy Tan Emperor had completely reconstructed the temple. There are no partitions between areas, there are no pillars. In 1950, the pagoda was restored under the help of Buddhists.
Although experiencing many ups and downs of history, once glorious at times, also depressed by the time, Dieu De pagoda still stand with time, still the place of visiting of Buddhists Hue. Today, despite the pagoda has not regained its splendid drawing like the old days, it also deserves a destination to visit and learn at the ancient capital.
4. Hoang Hoa Quan Cong Princely Residence
His real name is Nguyen Phuc Mien Trien born on July 19th, 1833, as the 66th Prince of Minh Mang Emperor .
At the age of 17 (1850), he was conferred Trieu Phong Quan Cong and established his own residence.
In 1883 he was named Hoang Hoa Cong. In the same year, he was sent to Trieu Phong Huong Cong by not supporting the killing of Hiep Hoa and Ton Kien Phuc. On October 27th, 1885, Mien Trien could return to Hue and he was reinstated by Dong Khanh. He died on May 7, 1905, and Thanh Thai bestowed Hoang Hoa Quan Cong.
Hoang Hoa Quan Cong residence is an important architectural area in the ancient imperial complex and Hue garden in particular. This is the type of architecture that is not everywhere we can admire, this can be considered a unique feature only in Hue.
They are located in a large campus, surrounded by citadel – fenced, hidden behind ancient arches. All of them are a miniature world in the quiet and peaceful space of Hue.
5. SUZUCHO patriarch memorial house
During his time in Hue (from 1959 to 1978), Karatedo Vietnam founder Choji Suzuki whose Vietnamese name is Le Van Phuc stayed at the house now located at 8th Nguyen Chi Thanh street, Hue city.
On October 28th, the inauguration ceremony of Suzucho Karatedo Vietnam memorial house was held at 8th Nguyen Chi Thanh street, Hue city. It was built on two floors according to the architecture of an ancient tile roof. Its first floor is served as guest reception, souvenir booths and training space for outstanding students, belt and dan competition, Karatedo performances, dressing room and security guard room.
The second floor is space for worship, traditional room, and Japan – Hue cultural exchange events.
This address is not only considered as the first dojo but also the origin of Karatedo Vietnam.
6. Phuc Kien Assembly Halls
Phuc Kien Assembly Hall is a typical architectural work in Hue City was built in the 7th year of Tu Duc Emperor (1854). Phuc Kien Assembly Hall is the place to worship the Mother Thien Hau and the protection deities of the river, money and ancestors. Through many times of restoration, Phuc Kien Assembly Hall has become more and more brilliant but still retains the ancient architecture of the old Chi Lang Town.
The Chinese assembly halls in Hue is very well preserved, so it retains its beauty. Compared to other assembly halls in Hue such as Quang Dong, Trieu Chau, Hai Nam,… Phuc Kien has a wide and deepest space with a host of sculptures, embossing flowers. Visiting this monument, visitors will be astonished at the skillful hand of the ancients who created a magnificent building, both sophisticated and profound. Coming to the Chinese assembly halls on Chi Lang road, travelers will have a strange and satisfying feeling.
Location: See Chi Lang-Gia Hoi Map is here
Entrance fee and operation hours at Chi Lang- Gia Hoi Town: It’s free. It opens everytime of the dayWhat to prepare: sunglasses, comfortable shoes and a bottle of water in the sunny season during April-September, and an umbrella and raincoat/jacket during the rainy months of October-March.